The University of Piraeus was founded in 1938 under the title of the “School for Industrial Studies”, by the Industrialists and Tradesmen Association. Today, the following nine Departments are run by the University of Piraeus: i) Economics, ii) Business Administration, iii) Statistics and Insurance Science, iv) Financial Management and Banking, v) Industrial Management, vi) Maritime Studies, vii) Informatics, viii) Digital Systems and ix) International and European Studies. The Department of Digital Systems covers the areas of digital/network services, broadband (wireless and optical) networks, as well as the security of digital systems. The department’s research staff consists of 25 faculty members, 20 postdoctoral researchers and 75 PhD candidates, whose collective expertise covers many key areas in distributed systems and services.

The University of Piraeus Research Center (UPRC) facilitates the research activities of university members in different programmes and initiatives. In this context, the Department of Digital Systems (through UPRC) has been actively involved and coordinated a significant number of: (i) EU funded R&D projects, (ii) National projects funded by the Greek Ministry of Development and the General Secretariat of Research and Technology, and (iii) Projects developed in collaboration with enterprises (both international and national).


is loading the page...